First Day Blues

IMG_2775

Is there any prouder moment than watching your teeny tiny (and rather highly strung) five year old daughter quash the nervous feeling in her tummy with some deep breathing – just like we practised – as she waves goodbye to you with a brave, proud half-smile on her first day of school?

If so, then it’s ahead of me. And I can only hope that, like this morning, I am able to put on my sunglasses and be swiftly on my way before the lump in my throat gets the better of me and I am wracked with uncontrollable sobs right there in the quadrangle.

Four hours have passed, and all the deep breathing I can muster isn’t dislodging the slightly sick feeling in my tummy. I can only hope our long held appointment at Baskin & Robbins this afternoon will do the trick…

2 thoughts on “First Day Blues

I'd love to hear what you think...

