Wiped Out: The end of an era

Ever since I started back at work, I have been spending much of my spare time developing frameworks and dashboards and board papers. And I’m not ashamed to admit that I have been enjoying myself tremendously – after 38 years of life, there no longer seems any point in denying the reality that I am, at my core, a nerd.

As a result, I have dedicated far less time to general musing. I have been musing in my head of course (in the shower, on the way to work etc.) but I haven’t had the energy or inspiration to put pen to paper.

Until now.

Because this week, a monumental shift in the quality of our lives has occurred.

Since February 2006, Hubby and I have been cleaning up our children’s poo. Every parent does this, of course, and we entered into the parenting realm with our eyes wide open. Well, not entirely wide open since neither of us had ever changed a nappy, but at least half open. Squinting, maybe. We understood at some level at least, that poo cleaning duties would be involved.

That was over seven years ago. And with the exception of a brief 9 month window of respite, we have spent all of that time cleaning up poo each and every day (usually multiple times).

Most recently we have been forced to endure the punch in your face, nausea inducing task of cleaning up the poo of a 3.5 year old who would wee in the toilet as happily as can be, but had some kind of inexplicable phobia about number twos.

Finally, a couple of weeks ago, this mountain was traversed. The battle is over, and if they were capable of it, my olfactory senses would be singing hymns of joy and thanks.

And this week while we were still basking in the glow of that success, our 22 month old son who didn’t start walking until he was 15 months old and is in danger of turning two without being able to pronounce his own name, outdid both his older sisters in the most important of all milestones: he did a poo on the potty.

I have now spent just shy of 20% of my life cleaning up poo and the last thing I want to do is jinx things, but I couldn’t let this week go by without documenting my jubilation.

Raising our little babies and toddlers has been a challenging, lovely, amazing process and I know when it’s over it’s over for good, so I should never try to wish it away.

But in this regard at least, gosh darn the light at the end of the tunnel glows bright…

7 thoughts on “Wiped Out: The end of an era

    • Congratulations!! Although with the benefit of two days worth of hindsight, I fear I may have jumped the gun a little. We are still a work in progress. I look forward to the feelings of liberation sometime soon!

  1. Woohoo, potty poo!

    What a huge milestone. I was talking about this recently with friends. Since November 2006 I have been changing nappies, no break, sometimes with two in nappies at once. We’ve had a few potty poos in the past few weeks but nothing consistent. When my 19 month old is toilet trained, I might just have to have a party!

    • Seriously – you deserve to throw a party! I think this occasion gets far too little airplay in society. It should be right up there with important wedding anniversaries, twenty-first birthdays and retirement… Good luck!

  2. Same here woman, gosh it’s liberating isn’t it! We might even get out of night nappies this year, or am I asking for too much? x

I'd love to hear what you think...

